Banner
THE ESTATE HISTORY

History

On the shore of an ocean of vines among its park’s tall trees, one  catches sight of Château Talbot in the distance from the plateau of  Saint-Julien-Beychevelle.
The estate has a rich history. Its name originates with Connétable  Talbot, a famous English warrior, governor of Guyenne, defeated at the  battle of Castillon in 1453.
In 1855, at the time of the Médoc and Graves growth classifications  ordered by Emperor Napoléon III, Château Talbot was ranked fourth  classified growth of Saint-Julien. For several decades it belonged to  the Marquis of Aux. In 1917 Désiré Cordier acquired it. His son Georges,  then his grandson, Jean, followed him at the head of the estate. Under  their guidance, Talbot became one of the most famous growths in the  Bordeaux region.

Upon the death of Jean Cordier during the autumn of 1993 his daughters, Lorraine and Nancy, took over the reins of Talbot. Enriched with the still vivid memory of knowledge and experience of past generations, which preceded them, Lorraine and Nancy formed a team that for more than 15 years animated this Grand Cru with all the talent and respect that it merited.

Spring 2011 brought sad news – that of the untimely passing away of Lorraine Cordier. Today, Nancy Bignon Cordier and her husband, Jean-Paul Bignon, pursue the history of Talbot; a long history which has always united with passion the destiny of a family to that of a vineyard.
 

Contact   l   Site map   l   Legal Notices   l   Crédits